jump to navigation

Your Name – Review April 11, 2017

Posted by coolmikeol in Anime, Otaku.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Kimi no Na wa.

(Your Name.)

Remember, this review assume that you have watched the movie, which means SPOILERS will be imminent. You have been warned.

Talking about spoilers, I’m glad I stayed away from them for this movie. I already knew about the body swapping aspect, but the fate of Itomori was something I never saw or heard of prior to watching, nor expected.

So before I review the movie, I want to mention some things beforehand. First of all I watched this movie in a theater English subbed. (Just got back and immediately got to work on writing this up while listening to music from the movie, was thinking all about it during my 15 minute drive back home.)  This was my first time watching an anime movie in theaters, though the atmosphere is somewhat similar to when I’m watching anime at cons in viewing rooms. I decided to watch it at the theaters as I’ve been hearing rave reviews about it, and it was only going to be in theaters for a couple more days. I arrived fairly early for the movie, as much as half hour early for the film. There was only one other person in the room at the time, so seating was no problem. I already ate before I got to the theater so that I didn’t need to buy expensive food from there. I did bring at least some candy and a small water bottle; good thing they don’t search bags at the one I go to. When it was time for the movie to start, there was only about seven people in the room, which was a bit sad but at the same time I’ve got to remember that these films rarely go all the way to US theaters. Also maybe because I was at a 1:50pm screening as well? Probably there would be more people at the later ones.


Here’s a playlist of the music from the film.

Here is a synopsis from MAL.net:

Mitsuha Miyamizu, a high school girl, yearns to live the life of a boy in the bustling city of Tokyo—a dream that stands in stark contrast to her present life in the countryside. Meanwhile in the city, Taki Tachibana lives a busy life as a high school student while juggling his part-time job and hopes for a future in architecture.

One day, Mitsuha awakens in a room that is not her own and suddenly finds herself living the dream life in Tokyo—but in Taki’s body! Elsewhere, Taki finds himself living Mitsuha’s life in the humble countryside. In pursuit of an answer to this strange phenomenon, they begin to search for one another.

Kimi no Na wa. revolves around Mitsuha and Taki’s actions, which begin to have a dramatic impact on each other’s lives, weaving them into a fabric held together by fate and circumstance.

This synopsis does a decent job describing the movie in a very general manner, as it should. Good thing it doesn’t really spoil much, something I hate very much. Watching a movie beyond the synopsis always feels like jumping through a painting; it’s much more deeper than what you see on the outside.

I thought this movie was fantastic; the art was breathtaking, the music was simple yet effective for the scenes they played for, and the story made my eyes widen when things started turning for the worst. The scene that got to me the most was when Taki and Mitsuha were on the mountaintop together, but at first could not see one another, they could only hear each other. It was only when passing right by one another in that space that could sense each other through their red string of fate. Twilight came and for that short moment, bridged the gap between time and space. They could see one another, talk face to face, and hold each others hands. It was that moment where they were writing their names on each other’s hands that almost made me tear up. The abruptness of Mitsuha’s disappearance with the drop of the pen, and Taki’s fading memories made me feel for them.

After the movie I began to think about the paradox theory and how it applies in the situation in the movie. It’s not so clear cut like how movies like Back to the Future shows or deals with paradoxes. For the first half with Taki and Mitsuha randomly switching bodies, there didn’t seem to be no rhyme or reason for it. Or course at the time, we assume that distance is the only thing separating them. It’s not until later that we learn that the events that destroyed Itomori happened three years ago. Because Taki now knows of the comet strike, his hope to change the past will depend on connecting back to Mitsuha. Recalling that she had a family shrine outside of Itomori on a mountaintop crater, he heads to there in hopes that going to it will help him reconnect with her one more time. By drinking the kuchikamizake that she made (and falling over and hitting his head), he wakes up in her body once more on the day of the comet pass by. Taki knows he has a chance to change things, to save these people of a beautiful town. His actions only initiate a evacuation, but due to time and fate resisting, things seem to be destined for what is known in the future. It’s only after the meeting between Taki and Mitsuha at twilight that gives them a fighting chance to truly save the people of Itomori. Once we learn that there are no casualties and that history has changed, we witness their memories of each other fade. Maybe this is how the paradox is handled, similar to how people can disappear if certain events happen in the past. While time may have degraded their memories of each other during those events, it did not destroy the connection they still share, as seen in the ending of the movie.


During the movie, there were a couple of times where I heard crying from a nearby movie watcher. I tend to be the kind of person who can never be sure whether or not the emotion coming from someone else is real or not. I’m not saying that this movie is not sad, nor do I think that the times she cried was fake in any kind of manner. I’m just being overly cautious of others’ reactions because I get influenced by others opinions, especially about shows I watch.

While I thought this movie was great in its own right, I don’t think of it as a masterpiece unfortunately. I would rate it a 8.5 out of 10. For me, what would add to the film is if it had more time to flesh some things out. I would have liked to learn more about the phenomenon that gave Taki and Mitsuha the opportunity they had to be together. It sort of reminds me of the movie Interstellar, where love helped the main character transcend time and space to send a message that ultimately saved the human race. I know that the topic was touched on by Mitsuha’s grandmother that it was a family thing, but was that only it? I guess the strings that invisibly trail us is our answer to all in the film. As for the ending, I think it ended well with them finally finding one another again then cutting there. As part of the audience, we can presume a regular life awaits them which doesn’t need to be shown. Leave it to the imagination.

Comments»

1. Anime_Girls_NYC - April 11, 2017

I need to watch this.


Leave a Reply

