jump to navigation

Animation on Display 2015 February 8, 2015

Posted by coolmikeol in Events.
Tags: , ,
trackback

AOD2015 21

I went to my “local” small con Animation on Display (AOD for short) this year with some friends, which took place on January 31st – February 1st. I didn’t go last year because it moved from its previous and much convenient location of being at Hotel Kabuki at San Francisco’s Japantown to the Hyatt Regency located near the San Francisco Airport in Burlingame, California. We went to Day 1 only, staying about a few hours before running off to do other errands. There wasn’t too much to do besides seeing the sights of cosplay or playing in the gaming room. Anyways I’ll leave the pictures to do the rest of the talking.

For all of my photos taken at Animation on Display 2015, here is the album on my Flickr.

AOD2015 26

AOD2015 27

AOD2015 32

The dealers hall. Selection as typical as you can get.

AOD2015 37

Demo for Dengeki Bunko Fighting Climax. ” The game celebrates the 20th anniversary of ASCII Media Works’ Dengeki Bunko imprint, featuring various characters from light novels published under the imprint.” Basically its a fighting game featuring notable anime characters such as Kirito, Asuna, Shana, Taiga, Kirino, Misaka Mikoto, Satomi Rentaro, etc.

AOD2015 43

Demos for 3DS games I guess.

AOD2015 44

AOD2015 46

AOD2015 49

AOD2015 50

AOD2015 51

AOD2015 52

This Asuna cosplayer was giving away sweets for Valentine’s day already.

AOD2015 55

I was thinking about buying that star, but it looked more green than golden yellow. It would have matched with my light up 1up mushroom.

AOD2015 58

Eva itasha right outside the front of the hotel.

d

AOD2015 59

The hotel/con from the front.

Overall, I felt that the con had a better venue spacewise, but it lacked in activity in more ways than one. Besides the dealers hall, panel rooms/video rooms/maid cafe, and gaming room, I felt that within an hour I saw everything that I could see. The only thing that would spontaneously change would be the cosplay which was for me few and far between. When I go to cons or events, I try to make a minimum quota of photos that I should take. In this case I aimed for 100 but was shy from that by more than 10, majority of those photos of the venue itself than the cosplay. Since I go for the overall approach when taking photos at events like this (photos of all major areas of the convention, events, cosplay), I was already reaching a photo drought by the 2PM hour. (We got to the con at about 10AM.) Though I will admit, it was because I had other people with me that I felt pressured to rush taking photos rather than being patient. I probably would of stayed around the con until around 5PM if that wasn’t the case. That’s why in some cases, I’d rather go to cons alone so that I don’t feel that I dragging around others. Don’t get me wrong, there are some things that you can only enjoy with friends/acquaintances at cons, but the way I do things work better when I work alone doing photography. The next major anime convention I’ll be attending will be FanimeCon in San Jose, California once again. The thing is with that con is that it coincides with my graduation from college. How things will turn out then with both going on, I’m not quite sure, but I’ll make it work somehow as I always do.

Alright, peace out.

 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

