jump to navigation

Hentai Ouji to Warawanai Neko. – CM Review July 20, 2013

Posted by coolmikeol in Anime, Otaku.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Hentai Ouji to Warawanai Neko.Hentai Ouji to Warawanai Neko (The “Hentai” Prince and the Stony Cat) or HenNeko for short, is a fun little romantic comedy that gets a bit crazy with a cat statue that can grant wishes… with some conditions. Here is a quick synopsis from My Anime List:

Youto Yokodera is always thinking about his carnal desires, but no one acknowledges him as a pervert. He learns about a cat statue that supposedly grants wishes. The boy goes to pray that he will be able to express his lustful thoughts whenever and wherever he wants. At the statue, Youto encounters Tsukiko Tsutsukakushi, a girl from his high school with her own wish—that she would not display her real intentions so readily.

This was another anime that I believe I first heard of from Danny Choo’s blog. I also saw it while browsing through the posters for the spring anime season. To some people, seeing the word “hentai” in the title may make or break it for them. I didn’t jugde it based on its title, I always look toward at least a general synopsis just to get enough story to catch my interest. In this anime’s case, the “hentai” is referring to the main character’s, Youto’s, interest in ecchi and perverted things, though in the beginning he ends up always trying to cover up his desires with his facade. In order to express his feelings more readily, he goes to a rumored statue that grants wishes atop a hill. Here he meets with Tsukiko who also has a wish to make to the statue, a wish to hide her emotional expressions. They both get their wishes, but this is where to story starts. Of course I’m not here to summarize the anime, but I at least wanted to give some background from my own words.

The story that is illustrated by the synopsis only really lasts for the first few episodes in my opinion; to me that ends when Youto gets his facade back after initially wishing it away. After that it runs on to a new arc in the storyline, though it starts getting a bit weird and confusing at times especially after Youto’s house disappears.

I liked Tsukiko a bit more with her expressions than her without it. While it does make her a bit unique to have her face expressionless but her actions still showing what she wants, it made her seem platonic because she couldn’t express her feelings visually with her face and voice. I was looking forward to her getting her expressions back in one episode (in a form of a meat bun), but she ends up giving it to her older sister, Tsukushi. It was because of her older sister that she made the wish to get rid of her expressions in the first place; she thought her older sister hated her because of her clingy nature. Actually, Tsukushi acted cold toward her younger sister because she wanted to cut her sisterly ties with her, as she wanted to create a more intimate bond with the intent to marry her, which Tsukiko rejects immediately.

Azuki Azusa in a more casual outfit.

Azuki Azusa in a more casual outfit.

My favorite character in the anime was Azusa Azuki, a girl who was introduced in the series as the person who received Youto’s facade. (The cat statue can grant and revert wishes. It also gives wishers traits from others who have wished on the statue if they wish for it.) In the beginning, she is pretty much a tsundere due to the facade, but once that is returned to him, she becomes more “dere dere” towards him. I have to admit, she is a real cutie. Most of the characters are in the series, but I like her in particular. The character illustrations for the series is done by Japanese artist Kantoku who has done some pretty amazing artwork. (Some are NSFW if you search for art from this illustrator.)

The main plot conflict in this series was Youto’s missing memories from his past that don’t add up with current events and relationships. I’m not going to spoil the ending, but because of them having the ability to make wishes almost at will, trying to find out why he lost them makes the story jump all over the place. While its good to have an unpredictable storyline versus a cliché one, the wishing makes for some confusion.

Overall, it was a good casual series to watch. I didn’t expect the plot to go crazy at the midway point in the season, nor did I expect the synopsis story to only describe the first few episodes only. It surprised me when Youto got his facade back a few episodes as I thought that was going to be the running theme throughout the entire season. The ending was OK, it did bring a conclusion to the season’s plot conflict, but it still left a somewhat open ending. As I don’t intend to spoil too much, I won’t say more than that. If you enjoy a romantic comedy anime with a bit of ecchi, drama, and craziness then check this anime out.

Comments»

1. Youko - July 20, 2013

I initially thought this would turn out to be a decent romantic comedy, but I was very surprised at the final arc. While it did feel confusing in the middle, witnessing how everything happened in the past completed the puzzle for Youto’s and Tsukushi’s characters. It was probably the saddest part of the show which might be an odd contrast to all the zany things in the show. Overall, still enjoyable.

Definitely agree with you on Azuki. She was my favorite, but unfortunately she never got the limelight again after her arc.

2. skycells - July 20, 2013

Yeah, this series didn’t turn out to be as great as I thought it would be. It started out as a comedy and ended up as more of a drama near the end; though I still enjoyed it. I’ve seen the same type of thing happen with quite a few series. Miss Steel was my favorite.


Leave a Reply

