jump to navigation

Yuru Yuri October 6, 2012

Posted by coolmikeol in Anime, Otaku.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Yuru Yuri is a slice-of-life, comedy that has a light yuri setting hence the name of the series. There have been two seasons of Yuru Yuri, though since it is a slice-of-life series, it doesn’t have much of a plot. Here is a synopsis from myanimelist.net:

Right after starting middle school, Akari Akaza joins the Amusement Club which is composed solely by her two childhood friends, Kyouko Toshinou and Yui Funami. Chinatsu Yoshikawa, Akaza’s classmate, becomes a member after finding out about the dissolution of the Tea Club.

The Amusement Club, situated at the tea room facility since the Tea Club disbanded, has no clear purpose, being free for the girls to do whatever they want.

Here’s just my quick opinion of this anime. I’m not going to do a summary of all the characters this time because it won’t add to the overall content of this post, especially that this is a anime with no real plot, and also because you can find all the character bios on websites such as Wikipedia or MyAnimeList.net.

This was a pretty good anime in terms of entertainment. I know some people that don’t like so much the slice-of-life comedy genre, or the overly used high school setting in anime, but to me, every anime that I do watch to the end has its own charms. I started watching Yuru Yuri because there was no animes I was particularly watching at the time. I first saw it on the 2011 Summer Anime list poster. (I always like to check out interesting animes by looking at those next season anime online posters, hopefully you know what I mean.) I guess what appealed to me was the fact that the show had a group of school girls doing whatever. In my mind it kind of sounds like K-On! but without the music/band aspect. While thinking about it seems kind of strange to like or even be interested in this kind of genre of anime, I could relate it to the fact that I like shows that sort of emulate real world scenarios. Of course a lot of things in animes in general aren’t exactly exemplified in real life, but the fact that the general plotline of a show where a group of schoolgirls does random and amusing things is something that can be found in real life. That’s probably one of the reasons why a lot of people are interested in Japanese schoolgirls because they are presented in numerous ways such as fun loving, carefree, hard working, nice looking, cute, etc. These traits can be seen in both real life and in anime, though still realize that there is a boundary between the 2D and 3D. Basically what I’m saying is that the reason why I like slice-of-life comedy anime series is because I can relate it to real life, something that fans of any TV show likes to dream about when thinking of their favorite show.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

