jump to navigation

Guilty Crown March 23, 2012

Posted by coolmikeol in Anime, Manga.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Guilty Crown is a multi genre/theme anime by Production I.G., directed by Tetsurō Araki and written by Hiroyuki Yoshino. Here is a quick synopsis of  the series from Wikiepdia:

On Christmas Eve, 2029, the unidentified “Apocalypse Virus” spreads and plunges Japan into a state of emergency in a chaos known as the “Lost Christmas” incident. An international organization known as the GHQ intervenes with martial law and restores order to Japan at the cost of its independence.

Ten years later in 2039, Shu Ouma, a 17-year-old high school student who keeps to himself in school, meets Inori Yuzuriha, the lead singer for Egoist, while visiting one of his favorite places on his way home from school. Shu is a big fan of Inori, a singer who has taken the Internet world by storm. However, he also discovers the other side of her, which is that she is a member of “Undertakers”, a resistance group that aims to liberate Japan from the GHQ. Shu starts taking part in the actions of “Undertaker-(funeral parlor)” and the “king’s mark” appears on his right hand after the Void Genome in his pocket was shot by a GHQ Endlave. This “mark” bestows on him the power to reach inside another person’s body and extract and materialize a weapon from it. The anime tells the story of Shu’s reluctant involvement with the Undertakers and the hardship involved in using his power.

This anime was quite a unique watch for me. It took so many twists and turns pretty rapidly, that at some points I was confused or just overwhelmed with what was going on. I mention that this is a multi-theme anime, because to me I feel little bits of other kinds of animes mixed into Guilty Crown:

  1. The beginning starts off a bit like Code Geass with “Power of the King” gaining and Undertaker missions.
  2. Shu reluctantly deciding to use his power feels like how Madoka from Puella Magi Madoka Magica took her time deciding whether or not to make a contract to become a magical girl, knowing the consequences of doing so.
  3. In the middle of the series, when trapped at the school and giving everyone voids, it also felt like a magical girl kind of thing where everyone has some sort of unique individual tool of their own to use. Reminds me of pactio artifacts from the Negima series.
  4. The second half sort of followed a chiche story line where Shu recovered and gained back his lost power in hopes to rescue Inori and stop Gai and the next Apocalipse. I guess the many shonen series I’ve followed before have influenced my rating of this great anime, all because I ended up predicting the end somewhat and because of that, ruining my experience of experiencing the end of a series.
  5. In the final scenes of Guilty Crown, where Shu absorbs all the Apocalypse Virus from the world, it slightly reminded me of Negi Springfield and his Magia Erebea power from the Negima series.

While I’m making this anime sound bad from these, I don’t intend to, I really don’t. Guilty Crown had those moments that shocked me and made me wide eyed at times, but at the same time I felt that too much was mixed into the series that didn’t blend too well. The transitions between the themes I mentioned above were either too fast or seemed out of place at times, but overall I still really enjoyed this anime. I guess I can describe Guilty Crown as a roller coaster ride, having its ups and downs but none the less was enjoyable. I guess the main reason why I didn’t rate it as high as I would like because I kept anticipating the ending.

Ouma Shu is a character I can relate with. In the beginning he has a hard time socializing with others, something I can understand. When Hare dies in his arms, he changes into a ruthless person for a bit due to the death of a close friend, and that is something I could imagine myself becoming if conditions were the same. The struggles of using a power that can affect many people and also that of the world is a heavy thing to carry, something I also think about every so often. It seems that in animes I’ve seen so far, a person in power who can change the world can go in either direction: 1) become corrupt (or seem corrupt) with power to take over everything, and/or 2) use the power to help everyone by sacrificing themselves. Either way, these types of story lines usually end well for the sake of a good ending, because I guess a bad/evil ending doesn’t really feel like a true ending, or that good endings have been engraved into everyone in society as the only way for people to be satisfied.

The visuals of Guilty Crown are really nice. It mixes traditional 2-D anime with 3-D digital effects, as seen in Production I.G.’s previous works such like in the Ghost in the Shell series. This is one of the traits that makes this anime, or any anime with this type of visual style, quite unique from other animes. Here is a short scene from episode 1 that demonstrates the beauty of 2-D with 3-D together, high quality recommended:

What first attracted me to this series was the music. I’m subscribed to a YouTube channel called  (I’m also subscribed to xximmortalmagexx as well if you were wondering) who uploads great music mainly from anime series. The music of Guilty Crown is really great. Like with all music I like listening to, it’s hard for me to describe the feeling I get from listening to them. Listening to the music below makes me feel like I have power channeling through my body, though I guess its more like chills through my spine from this epic music:

Since I love the music from this series, I plan to do a Guilty Crown Piano Melodies Series within the next couple of months. My next PMS is already planned and so it won’t be out in April, but I plan for my GC PMS to be released on May 5th. I hope you look forward to it!

 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

