jump to navigation

Kore wa Zombie Desu ka? August 12, 2011

Posted by coolmikeol in Anime, Manga.
Tags: , ,
trackback


This anime contains zombies, supernatural events, some blood and gore, magic, harem, and comedy all mixed together. Here is a quick synopsis from Wikipedia:

Ayumu Aikawa is a zombie resurrected by a necromancer named Eucliwood Hellscythe after being killed by a serial killer. As he tries to make the best of his undead life, he encounters a Masō-Shōjo named Haruna and inadvertently takes her magic powers, being forced to become a Masō-Shōjo in the process. With Eucliwood, Haruna, and a vampire ninja named Seraphim living with him, Ayumu helps battle demons known as Megalos while trying to figure out the mystery behind his own death.

I got into this anime by suggestion by a friend. I don’t really want to go over the plot or characters as the synopsis already mentions the main topics, however I’ll jump into my overview of the anime right away. Kore wa Zombie Desu Ka is entertaining to some extent with its fights and comedy, but in my opinion it’s just a casual watch anime, by my definition, an anime to watch when you can’t find any others. I’m not saying that it’s a bad anime, it isn’t too generic, but it just doesn’t have that unique feel to it that you get with great animes. That being said, a second season of Kore wa Zombie Desu Ka has been announced and I do plan to watch it. For some reason, most of the time I always watch follow up seasons of every anime series I watch, except for the truly bad ones, I don’t know why though. Maybe it’s because I’m a  dedicated anime fan who wants to complete anime series by watching all the episodes…? I don’t know, but it wouldn’t feel right if I just watched one season knowing that other seasons and OVAs existed of that series.

Probably that’s why I’m not too motivated to do a real in-depth review of this anime. I hope that you don’t feel like my anime reviews qualities are lacking, these reviews I do simply is a way for me to express my opinions of each anime I watch, and for some I can say a lot while others (like this one) there isn’t much to say. The best way for you to know how an anime is, is to watch it yourself. Reading someone else’s experiences isn’t the same as experiencing it yourself. Like one of my favorite YouTuber XxImmortalmagexX says, our opinion may differ.

Comments»

1. Dinara - August 12, 2011

I really enjoyed this anime. All the characters are awesome and it was just a good story with a great balance of comedy and darkness.

I even teared up in the second last episode a bit, it was a very cute ending.

coolmikeol - August 13, 2011

Yeah, Kore wa Zombie Desu Ka was a good anime. I enjoyed it, just not as much as other animes I’ve seen, that’s probably why I couldn’t think of much to say about it.

The ending of the first season (second to the last episode) was very touching, and we got to finally hear Eu’s real voice for the first time too. I plan to watch the second season of this anime, and I hope for improvements to the story.


Leave a Reply

