jump to navigation

Shinryaku! Ika Musume January 19, 2011

Posted by coolmikeol in Anime, Manga.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Shinryaku! Ika Musume I think was one of the funniest animes I’ve seen in a while. Here is a quick synopsis from MAL.net:

“The sea in our world has been polluted. All sorts of trash were thrown into the sea, making it unpleasant deep under the sea. One of the inhabitants of the sea, Ika Musume (Squid Girl) seeks to exact revenge on humanity for throwing trash into the sea. Clueless about the surface, she seeks to invade humanity alone, trying to rule over the world, only to find herself slaving away at one of the nearest beach-houses for breaking a side of its wall.”

What makes this anime great in my opinion is the comedy that is produced by the naive Ika Musume. While she may be clueless about pretty much everything on land, it’s not because she is air-headed or dumb, it’s because she is from the sea and that everything is new to her on land because it’s her first time being there. Ika Musume as a character is sensible in mind, level-headed and has good common sense, but with her comical weakness of lacking knowledge and comprehension of dry land life, the anime presents us a cute character who is funny solely about being naive for the right reasons.

I just want to mention some things about the characters of this series. While the Aizawa family are the main characters of the anime, I tend to like the secondary supporting characters more, notably Sanae with her obsession for Ika, and Cindy Campbell and her MIT colleagues Harris, Clark, and Martin with their wacky but smart inventions they use for useless alien finding, rather than using it to better mankind, to capture Ika for experiments. They really do add to the comedy in the show and I think it would be rather boring if they wern’t there.

In episode 9, the MIT trio brought over a ray device they claimed to bring the respect Ika thinks she deserves. It turns out to be a disintegrating ray that destroys the whole Lemon Beach House. Then Chizuru gets all creepy mad to make them pay for rebuilding. What I found funny is that in the next episode, they show the beach house like it always was, complete with the hole that Ika Musume made that keeps her working at the beach house. I was wondering, if the beach house was destroyed, why rebuild it with Ika’s damage still? Well obviously it was probably kept as a reason for Ika Musume to stay around, and also probably because the animators didn’t think anyone would catch that and think about it the way I did.

In episode 5, the third segment is about a mini Ika Musume who is found by Eiko and is kept as a pet. The end has a bittersweet moment when it shows how Ika Musume was Eiko’s pet all through out her life and the sad moment is when Eiko passes away due to old age. I admit I did shed a tear or two during this scene, but it was just a very simple touching moment. It has been announced that couple of extra specials of mini Ika Musume will be released with the fifth and sixth DVD/Bluray volumes in April and May. I’ll update this part of this post when I watch it then.

Overall I found this simple slice of life comedy to be perfect, an anime I couldn’t say that there was anything bad with it. I loved how even the simplest things were turned funny by Ika’s interaction and clueless ideas. What’s strangely funny is the fact that she seems to do everything else quite well except invade the surface, like working at a beach house, cleaning the beach, playing sports, doing entertainment, etc..While it had it’s somewhat serious moments, it made me laugh and smile with every episode. The final episode was fitting and it did strike me a bit when things got bad for Ika, but of course like most animes like it, it ended on a good note.

I found this a while ago and have had several attempts at making the Ika Musume Squid Hat. I found it at this link at figure.fm. This image is not mine, so please ignore the swearing. I had some problems making the hat but eventually got it. I (obviously) learned that standard printer paper was not big enough for my head, so I just placed it on my K-On! plushis. I never got around to working with a bigger piece of paper I have lying around. Hope you have fun making your own Ika Musume Squid Hat. Maybe you could even add some long blue construction paper tentacles, but that’s just an idea for making it more similar to Ika Musume’s.

—-Click image for larger size——-

Comments»

1. Psycho - January 20, 2011

Made from paper? What if I’m used when swimming. It will damaged, isn’t it?

coolmikeol - January 20, 2011

Haha well yeah, I guess it’s for land use only.

If you could find a easily thin foldable material that can be somewhat rigid and waterproof then I think that would be the perfect material for a real Ika Musume Hat, though I don’t know who would be wearing a Ika Musume hat while cosplaying and being in water at the same time. Anyways this isn’t my instructions so can’t say anything about how to build one.


Leave a Reply

