jump to navigation

Ore no Imōto ga Konna ni Kawaii Wake ga Nai January 5, 2011

Posted by coolmikeol in Anime, Manga.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

Ore no Imōto ga Konna ni Kawaii Wake ga Nai/My Little Sister Can’t Be This Cute, or Oreimo for short, is my one of my favorites of the fall 2010 anime season. With it’s cute and unique characters, bright animation style, and plot about the acceptance of otaku and sibling relationship, it’s a series that is a bit different on it’s own. Here is a synopsis from mal.net:

“Kyōsuke Kousaka, a normal seventeen-year-old high school student, hasn’t gotten along with his younger sister, Kirino, in years. For longer than he can remember, Kirino has ignored his comings and goings and looked at him with spurning eyes. It seemed as if the relationship between Kyōsuke and his sister, now fourteen, would continue this way forever.

One day, however, Kyōsuke finds a DVD case of a magical girl anime entitled Hoshikuzu Witch Merle (Stardust Witch Meruru), which had fallen into the entranceway of his house. To Kyōsuke’s surprise, inside the case is a hidden adult video game titled Imouto to Koishiyo! (Love with Little Sister!). Kyōsuke attempts to fish out the culprit who dropped the case by bringing up the topic of magical girl anime at the family dinner table. All that comes out is a strong negative reaction from his parents, especially his anti-otaku policeman father.

That night, Kirino bursts into Kyōsuke’s room and, in perhaps the first conversation she has initiated with him in years, says they “have things to talk about.” Kirino brings Kyōsuke to her room and shows him an extensive collection of moe anime and lolicon bishoujo games she has been collecting in secret.”

The first few episodes were quite good, I liked how the plot started about the issue with bad stereotypes about otaku and how it is generally not accepted based on those assumptions. While the anime looks bright and cute, the depth of how it goes into these issues are opposite of a first glance. I find myself in a somewhat similar situations as Kirino dealt with in the beginning of the anime. While my family is fine with my Japan interests, I obviously have not exposed them to anime and other Japan related stuff that would be called questionable and/or inappropriate. This is similar to how Kirino has to deal with her parents about her Otaku hobby. Another similarity to Kirino’s early problems, in an attempt to connect with others with similar interests, I joined my local anime club. I’m glad that I did because I’ve made new friends and I feel better being able to talk to others with similar interests as myself. When I first joined the club however, due to my shy nature, I wasn’t able to really talk to anyone and felt like an outsider, sort of like how Kirino couldn’t really talk with any of the other girls of that first meet up with the online group. A few of the club members helped me out to be more a part of the club and slowly I felt more welcome. Now I feel as if I am truly part of my anime club but still have a bit more to go until I’m fully considered a long term member. It’s just like how Kirino met with Kuroneko and Saori and finally had friends that understood her hobby. These comparisons and similarity between Kirino’s problems and my own experiences made me immediately like this anime. I was able to understand her problems as if they were my own because they were also my own before. I really felt a connection with the anime during the first few episodes.

The characters in this anime, especially most of the main female characters, are no pushovers. Kirino, Ayase, Ruri (Kuroneko), and Kanako are all strong characters, both personally wise and physically, seeing how each are stubborn, argue a lot, and are able to punch and kick anyone out (Kyosuke unfortunately gets the brunt of the attacks). While Kirino and Ruri have a tsundere personality, Kirino rarely shows her “dere” (lovely dovey) side. A better description of Kirino is that she is “bitchy”, language I usually don’t use but in her case is the best way to describe her. It’s only at the end of the anime season that she shows her thanks to her brother for everything he has done for her, but even this seems obviously fake as the final episode of Oreimo has part of it’s title, Good End. This probably means that it is an original anime ending just to quickly make ends meet to give satisfactory closure.

What bothers me are animes that don’t follow their manga series properly. I don’t read too much manga which I’d like to if I could A) Have access to various manga titles, B) Have the time to read them all, and C) Able to afford buying manga. I know I could read manga for free off the internet, but some manga that I want to read are licensed and I feel lazy to search the internet for it. I only follow one series on a constant basis, which is Negima! When the final episode of Oreimo came out, and I kind of figured that it wasn’t how the story goes, I feel sort of annoyed because I want to know the true story, and not some false ending. I really hate reading spoilers from peoples’ comments that are posted all over the internet when they complain how the anime series doesn’t follow the manga, when I don’t follow the manga series. As for all the other anime series I’ve watched, I’m sure that some of them have their manga online, but after watching the anime I don’t feel like rereading the parts I’ve watched. I feel bad that I don’t read that much manga, because I know that there are some good reads out there. Should I try to read the manga of a series before going into it’s anime? Anime is so much easier to digest that manga, but manga has more content and is the direct story of the series. I guess I wouldn’t be worried too much about this problem if manga availability was better in my area.

Already announced are four Oreimo OVAs that will come out in June and July of this year. I’m assuming they are more about the real plot of Oreimo. I wish I could read the Oreimo manga series so I could understand the story better, but so far no luck finding a good site that has it if any exist. I’ll just wait for summer 2011 for the OVAs, maybe they give an alternate, manga true episodes.

The opening theme for Oreimo, Irony by ClariS is such a great song. I really just loved it the moment I heard it. I made several piano videos from songs from the Oreimo anime series, along with songs sang by ClariS that are not affiliated with Oreimo. Just as background, the duo who sings the song and most of the other songs in this video is ClariS, who are a two female singer group who are high school students. They started as Nico singers under the name of アリス☆クララ (Alice☆Clara). Most of their songs come from kz livetune who produce music through the Vocaloid Music Synthesizer program. Because of Irony, I’ve checked out ClariS’s other music which is just like other Vocaloid music (probably because it’s from kz livetune and thus IS vocaloid style music) and now I’m slowly becoming a fan of Vocaloid music. Just released today is my Oreimo/ClariS Piano Melodies Series video, hope you enjoy it!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

