jump to navigation

Code Geass March 30, 2010

Posted by coolmikeol in Anime, Manga.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

When I was in high school I used to watch only a little bit of anime. Actually I wasn’t really into anime like I am today, to me it was just a show. At the time I wasn’t really paying attention to the story at all because I just watched random episodes that happened to be on Adult Swim. Later on when I got more into anime that’s when I watched all the episodes from both seasons.

Here’s a quick summary of the main story:

“The series is set after Japan’s conquest by the Holy Britannian Empire on August 10, 2010, a.t.b. with their powerful new robot weapons, the Knightmare Frames, stripping Japan and its citizens of all rights and freedoms and renaming the country Area 11. The titular Lelouch is a Britannian prince who was disowned by his father, Emperor Charles Vi Britannia, after his mother was murdered, and has vowed to kill his father, the Emperor, and destroy Britannia. He gains an ability through the mysterious power of the Geass, becoming the leader of the resistance movement to fulfill his two wishes: to seek revenge for his mother and to construct a world in which his beloved sister Nunnally can live happily.”   (From Wikipedia, because if I wrote the summary from memory I would be forgetting general details)

It was the first anime that I watched that had a deep story that made me think about how it relates to real life. It was cool how Lelouch is able to devise and counter most obstacles that was in his way, especially how it ends at the final episode. The cast of characters is good, ranging from average school girls to military and class based people. The most of the main characters of Ashford Academy each play a role in the main story; Lelouch, Suzaku, Nunnally, Nina, and Kallen.

I heard about rumored new 2010 Code Geass project that may or may not be true. It may be based on the early history of the Code Geass world set in the Edo period. More details if this information is confirmed to be true. Here is a link to ANN about this news.

Its been a while since I’ve watched it so I can’t say too much about it. I think its best if you watch it and judge it yourself.

Comments»

1. Fabrice - March 31, 2010

Code Geass is a awesome anime that will surely gather different opinions from viewers and other reviewers other than myself. I’ve seen and heard a lot of people saying SUNRISE has done an awesome job and it’s not because of the use of mecha, action or drama, but rather how effectively it appeals to that certain aspect of anime that is not often addressed and yet is one of the main purposes of anime: entertainment. If your main interest in anime is in the quality of the storytelling or the characters, then Geass is probably not for you. However, if you’re in it to have fun or for some good laughs, then take a look at this anime. You wont be disappointed. Indeed Geass is a rare accomplishment.

Im really looking forward to the new project! ^^

Nave - March 10, 2011

On the contrary, I thought the cast of characters and story were the best I’ve ever seen. I’m blown away every time I see it, which would be the third time since an hour ago. In fact, I like it even more every time I see it. After you watch it once, you’ll think it’s good. Watch it again, and you pay less attention to what’s going on and more on the dialouge and story. You get to anaylze it and see the real beauty of it.

2. Jmarie - October 30, 2010

Since the day that I’ve watched the story of Code Geass I was amazed. I just liked it and I missed also watching its every episode in the televison. Hope to watch its next season.

3. Ashley - July 17, 2011

I start watching Gode Geass a few days ago and i loved it. I have seen already all episodes a lots ofm times, and i hope, that it will be and a next season
I love Lelouch, and Zero, i love the way they kill and love.
I didnt liked so much the end, with the death of Lelouch from Suzaku

4. Merrian Webster - July 20, 2011

Suzaku did kill Lellouch, but Lellouch isn’t dead. Suzaku activated Lellouch’s code (inherited from C.C. ) by killing him, thus making him inmortal.


Leave a Reply

