jump to navigation

Anime Club March 23, 2010

Posted by coolmikeol in Anime, Otaku.
Tags:
trackback

What I expected from this Anime Club was a somewhat structured anime watching organization. What I got was a bit different from what I thought (in a good way). Before being part of this club, I was pretty much alone in watching and knowing the kinds of things about the Otaku topic. I couldn’t really talk about the Japanese subculture with my friends that much without an odd feeling. I thought that I was fairly familiar with the basics of the topic “Otaku”, until my first meeting with Anime FX (the name of the club). It was actually a warm up meeting two weeks before the official open house of the club. I was a bit hesitant to enter the room when I arrived because I didn’t really know what to expect, but I entered with a decision to try to meet people with the same interests as me.

On that first day of the Anime Club, I had so much fun. I never felt so free in talking and showing my anime and video game interests. Everyone had a good laugh when I started showing some of my favorite YouTube videos. I knew that this club was going to be the best club I would have ever joined. When talking to the other people in the club about Otaku topics, they knew what I was talking about, not the ? expression if I was taking to some of my other friends about it. They knew more than me, they are all experts in Otaku topics. Some of the members are random and spontaneous but all of them are fun and know the limits in terms of showing ecchi/questionable images/topics. It’s very random what we do in the club. We have two rooms we use, one room has a projector and big screen for anime watching (I never watched any anime while at anime club except in the main room.) and the main room where we just hang out, chat, play video games, watch YouTube videos, and do other random shenanigans. Afterwards we go out to dinner, sometimes Denny’s, sometimes elsewhere. It’s all enjoyable.

I realized that I’m no Otaku, but a Japan enthusiast because when compared to the other club members and me, I only knew the basics of the Otaku. I’m not so into anime/manga/video games to go buy them all, but I’m interested in everything Japan; their lifestyle, culture, highly modernized Asian society. Since taking Asian American studies classes its sparked an interest in me to learn a bit more about the different Asian cultures. I’m Filipino and I don’t know much about my own culture except its food and a bit of Tagalog. I guess the reason for the sudden interest in Asian culture is because its different from American culture which is just all cultures mixed.

Every week I’ve been going to the club just to hang out and have a good time with people who share the same interests that I can talk about with. This anime club goes to many anime conventions as I’ve heard, their slogan being “It’s what you do between conventions”. I’ve never been to one but seen pictures of cosplayers, special guests, and other people with same interests joining at the same place enjoying what they like and connecting with others just like them. I don’t know if I will ever go, not that I don’t want to, it’s just not something I’m aiming for. Remember, I’m a Japan enthusiast, not an Otaku. Still, I’m planning to go to the Annual San Francisco Cherry Blossom Festival (Sakura Matsuri) this year as its like a mini con to me. Went last year and it was fun, but should be better for me this year as I’m planning to go with friends. May even cosplay…. I don’t know.

If you are a person who has anime/manga interests and are alone in your hobby, its best that you try to find others who have the same interests as you. It’s more fun that way, and you get to open more doors for yourself and others for your hobby. A person I look up to said, “Identify and live your passion, the rest will always follow.” Its been my drive to work hard in life for what I want, and one of those things that I wanted was to find others who like anime like me. Just keep searching for what you want, let your heart lead you to your future.

Are you in an anime/manga/VG/Japan – club/organization/group?

Comments»

1. Fabrice - March 24, 2010

Im not involved with any groups, because most of them here like only the usual ones, naruto, bleach, death note, thats about it =/

coolmikeol - March 24, 2010

Aww that’s bad. I’m not into the mainstream animes like those. At my anime club we barely talk about mainstream animes but rather on the many different kinds that are known in Japan but not shown or known well here in the United States, like K-On!, Toradora!, Negima, etc.

2. Fabrice - March 24, 2010

Thats why i found more people on the Sites like myanimelist etc
because at least they have similar views to me.
I wish they had a nice club here, but meh im not that bothered about it🙂


Leave a Reply

