jump to navigation

Lucky Star January 21, 2010

Posted by coolmikeol in Anime, Manga.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

Lucky Star Manga cover volume 1

Anyone who calls themselves an Otaku should know this anime well; Lucky Star created by Kagami Yoshimizu with Kyoto Animation studio doing the anime’s production.

I don’t remember when I got into watching Lucky Star, but I’m glad I did. It’s an anime that’s about the everyday high school lives of the four main characters, Konata Izumi, Tsukasa and Kagami Hiiragi, and Takara Miyuki. It’s a show with no plot, but generally has parody content of the Otaku subculture and their experiences with school and normal life.

This anime was a first for me, because it was my first anime that contained parodies and had references to the Otaku subculture. At the time when I was going through the episodes , I didn’t know too much about anime/manga stuff (Of course I still don’t know a lot about those things but some you learn from watching a lot of anime.), so some things came to me as a blur. All of the other parodies and little slices-of-life references that I did understand made me laugh and think about how true it applies to life. Besides the main characters, there is also a lot of supporting characters that add to the show. Too many to mention, they add more comedies and angles of their Japanese high school life.

I’ve noticed that Lucky Star is one of those very popular animes in Japan that isn’t well-known here in the United States. One reason I believe why it’s like this is because the animes that kids watch here are mostly action fighting based.  Since those kind of animes are known here, most people if asked to name any anime would probably mention either Naruto, Bleach, or Pokémon. To me it’s a bit sad that the stereotypical anime here in the US is all about action, fighting, and sexy characters. Of course most people would probably not understand the many parody references they make in the show, but the ones that I did recognize made me laugh. To me, Lucky Star is comparable to the hit sitcom Seinfeld, because both are about the main characters everyday lives with no plot in sight. Seinfeld is an example of how good a show is when it’s just about slice of life scenarios.

I definitely recommend this anime to anyone who wants to find more animes behind the mainstream ones. It offers an insight of everyday life of Japanese school girls. Of course it’s not exactly what happens there, but it’s an example of how the little things in life are portrayed in a very funny way.

For more in-depth information on the anime Lucky Star, please visit  Wikipedia.

Sent from my iPod

Comments»

1. Kairu - January 21, 2010

Would you consider the manga worth the buy if you had already seen the anime?

2. brownkidd - January 21, 2010

This is at the top of anime that I really want to watch. I really liked Azumanga Dioh and K-ON!, and by your description, Lucky Star is along the same lines, only with otaku references.

On a side note, it’s crazy how popular Lucky Star and K-On! are in otaku circles, but Azumanga Dioh is rarely ever mentioned and has no good merchandising behind it like Figmas and stuff. It’s really a shame because it greatly mirrors the insanely popular K-ON! Maybe it’s because K-ON! has the awesome rock-n-roll vibe and cuter characters?

Either way, I can’t wait to check out Lucky Star to get my moe fix.

3. Tweets that mention Lucky Star « Me Blogging About the Otaku Subculture -- Topsy.com - January 22, 2010

[…] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Rick F. Barnes, Halloween Party City. Halloween Party City said: Lucky Star « Me Blogging About the Otaku Subculture http://bit.ly/4wgEPU […]

4. My Blogging Schedule « Blogging About the Otaku Subculture - February 6, 2010

[…] the views would continue to be at a good level for a few days, then drop off. The last two posts, Lucky Star and K-On! are closer to each other in terms of posting date. Since then, the view count for the […]


Leave a Reply

