jump to navigation

The Otaku Encyclopedia December 5, 2009

Posted by coolmikeol in Otaku.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

SFSU manga bookshelf

While just browsing at manga at the bookstore on campus the other day, I find a book I never expected to find.

The Otaku EncyclopediaThe Otaku Encyclopedia – “An insider’s guide to the subculture of Cool Japan”

Its The Otaku Encyclopedia from Patrick W. Galbraith. It contains various information about the Japanese subculture in a alphabetical encyclopedia design. I first heard of this book on dannychoo.com and never thought I would see it in front of me. It just felt like another item of Japanese origin that was out of my reach.

I’m not sure if I’m going to buy it, but just from skimming through the pages, it has many intresting facts all about the topic Otaku and everything that falls into that catagory. Since I’m not as hardcore a fan of anime/manga as other people, most of the terms are new to me as it also covers a bit about the history of how it all began. I think of my self as liking anime/manga/games but not as much as someone who buys a whole bunch of figures, manga, and using all the time for it.

For more information about this book, visit this post from dannycoo.com. If I haven’t explained before, dannychoo.com is one of the best english blog & more websites that has current posts about Japan and the topic “Otaku”. My username there is coolmikeol if you want to look me up there.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

